Archive - 2019

December 15th

What if Bruno Le Maire was inspired by Donald Trump...

In the port of Tanger Med, low-cost Renault await...

The weekly column by Bernard Jullien is also on www.autoactu.com.

Last Friday Autoactu released two articles that unintentionally referred to each other.
 
One, signed by Laurent Bodin, dealt with the fate of PSA's Mulhouse assembly plant, which saw the production of the new 2008 model leave for Spain under the now well-known doctrine that French sites should not assemble vehicles from segments A and B, even if they are SUVs.
The other, signed by Bertrand Rakoto, analysed the automobile component of the new free trade agreement between the United States, Canada and Mexico and the constraints it imposes on manufacturers to limit competition between high-wage and low-wage countries and relocation to Mexico.
read more

December 8

Gérard Detourbet: a Renault guy, out of the ordinary

The silent disruptor

Gérard Detourbet passed away last Thursday. In 2017, he had to hand over the final stages of the development of K-ZE, the electric version of his Kwid in China, to take care of himself and will not be there to watch his commercial launch. However, one can count on his colleagues trained at his school to ensure its success there and to make him travel to Europe. read more

December 2

The German car industry: the social compromise at risk?

France's team knocked out. And in the end, Germany wins?
While the French automotive industry is going, this Monday, to try to understand what awaits it and try to put pressure to receive all the support it needs, news from our German neighbours converge to indicate that the coming years will be difficult for both automakers and equipment manufacturers.
 
 After Audi announced early last week that it would reduce its workforce by 9,500 by 2025, Daimler announced on the weekend that it would cut 10,000 jobs by 2022. A few weeks ago, Continental also announced a plan to reduce its workforce by 20,000 (out of a total of 244,000 people), including 7,000 in Germany. "In total," says RFI, "in recent months, the main car manufacturers and equipment manufacturers have planned nearly 30,000 job cuts.
 
read more

November 28th

Voiture électrique : la France manque-t-elle de puissance ?

Date: 
20/11/2019
Emission / Séminaire / Colloque: 

Tommaso Pardi / Voiture électrique : la France manque-t-elle de puissance ? / Journal de l'Eco / France Culture

November 25

VW's imperialist enterprise in the media sphere

Dieselgate : and the winner is...

This November, Volkswagen's offensive in the electrical vehicle resulted in an impressive series of announcements and statements by the group's top executives, who seem to want to convince everyone that the inevitable move towards battery-powered electric vehicles is underway and that Volkswagen is the most ready of all manufacturers to lead this change.
 
There is undoubtedly a "Coué method" dimension here that leads managers, afraid of the risks they take, to want to convince themselves, their teams and customers that the battery-powered EV is the right choice.
Above all, there is obviously a very political will to impose a global standard and to create competitive rules of the game for the automotive industry, which will be all the easier for Volkswagen to respect as they will have been largely designed around its convictions and proposals.
 
One of the signs of this political work was given when Angela Merkel, at the beginning of the month, honoured the invitation of the group's leaders to attend the launch of the ID3 assemby plant at the Zwickau plant in eastern Saxony.
read more

November 17

Thanks to ageing and deindustrialisation, the Ile de France is painted green

Bernard Jullien is not cheering (source AFP).
The first results in the latest EGT (Enquête Globale Transports = Global Transport Survey) conducted by Île-de-France Mobilités, formerly known as STIF (Syndicat des transports d'Île de France, the state run transportation authority recently devoluted to the region), are now available.
[Expectations were high since the reduction of the car footprint has become the official policy not only of the socialist mayor of Paris Hidalgo but also now to her moderately conservative rival governing the region].
 
They reveal that the region chaired by Valérie Pécresse is where it was expected to be: compared to 2010 (date of the last EGT), the growth in commuting - following that of the population - was expected to be around 7% by 2020 and, to reduce GHG emissions linked to transport by 20%, it was necessary, according to Airparif's calculation, for car and two-wheel motorised travel to fall by 2%.
read more

November 11

Toyota et Honda : different but strong

Looks like a no-deal
This November, we receive the financial results of Japanese automakers for the first half of their fiscal year, which ends at the end of March. Awaiting of Nissan, which will only be made public this week, we can look at those of Toyota and Honda, which already reveal the unequal exposure of Japanese carmakers to the decline in global demand that is now taking shape.
 
From this point of view, Toyota impresses by posting increasing volumes, sales and results.
Toyota sold 4.64 million vehicles from April to September, 220,000 more than last year. Its turnover increased by 600 billion yen (almost 5 billion euros), i.e. by 4%, and its operating income by 140 billion yen (1.16 billion euros, +11%). Its operating margin was 8.6% of turnover for the first half of the previous year, compared to 9.2% for the first six months of 2020.
 
read more

November 4

PSA-FCA: Sergio's ghost is hovering over the deal

Some in the industry need a haircut

As the exact terms of the deal being negotiated and the reactions of the markets become clearer, the scope of this 50-50 appears a bit different from "parity". Indeed, the financial community is calculating, on the basis of the respective valuations of the two groups before the announcement of the project and the operations that will be carried out before the deal, that we would rather be at 60-40 for the benefit of PSA, and that PSA therefore is agrees for the deal to be made at a significant sacrifice. read more

October 27th

Behind the financial results: the challenge of the pay out policy to shareholders

Payout_policy_2006-15.jpg

As we are informed in late October of the financial results for the third quarter of 2019 of the automotive groups, a rather difficult year 2019 is looming for most manufacturers and everything suggests that things will not improve in 2020: a large majority of markets are on a downward trend and it is imperative to continue investing.
 
Investing for a carmaker means both feeding the "business as usual" by regularly renewing the products. It also means, of course, launching or developing in new fields by setting up in countries where it was not present, or not enough, by creating new brands or by developing R&D skills that were not its own until then.
In all these cases, there is a need to spend now and, in most cases, several years in a row, expecting future revenues that may or may not become a reality.
read more

October 23

Bernard Jullien / Renault / Fiat-Chrysler : comment réussir une fusion ? / Entendez-vous l'éco? / France Culture

Date: 
31/05/2019
Patricia Charléty, professeure d'économie et de finance à l'ESSEC
Philippe Chalmin, Professeur d'économie à l'université de Paris Dauphine
Emission / Séminaire / Colloque: 

Bernard Jullien / Patricia Charléty / Philippe Chalmin / Entendez-vous l'éco? / France Culture

En début de semaine, Renault a accepté d’étudier la proposition de fusion avec l’italo-américain Fiat-Chrysler. Cette fusion élèverait le futur groupe automobile au troisième rang mondial. Pourquoi ces deux géants veulent-ils fusionner ? Quels sont les risques d'une fusion ?

GIS Gerpisa / gerpisa.org
61 avenue du Président Wilson - 94230 CACHAN
+33(0)1 47 40 59 50

Copyright© Gerpisa
Concéption Tommaso Pardi
Administration Géry Deffontaines

Powered by Drupal, an open source content management system

Archive - 2019

décembre 16th

Et si Bruno Le Maire s’inspirait de Donald Trump…

In the port of Tanger Med, low-cost Renault await...

Autoactu publiait vendredi deux articles qui, involontairement, se renvoyaient l’un à l’autre.
 
L’un, signé de Laurent Bodin, traitait du sort de l’usine terminale PSA de Mulhouse qui a vu partir la production du nouveau 2008 vers l’Espagne en vertu de la doctrine bien connue désormais selon laquelle les sites français n’ont pas à assembler de véhicules des segments A et B, fussent-ils des SUV. 
L’autre, signé de Bertrand Rakoto, analysait le volet automobile du nouvel accord de libre-échange entre les Etats-Unis, le Canada et le Mexique et les contraintes qu’il impose aux constructeurs pour limiter la mise en concurrence entre les pays à hauts salaires et les pays à bas salaires et les délocalisations vers le Mexique. 
lire la suite

décembre 9

Gérard Detourbet : un Renault hors norme

The silent disruptor

Gérard Detourbet s’est éteint jeudi dernier. Il avait dû en 2017 passer le relais sur les dernières phases du développement de K-ZE, la version électrique de sa Kwid en Chine, pour se soigner et ne sera pas là pour assister à son décollage commercial. Il pourra néanmoins compter sur ses collègues formés à son école pour en assurer le succès là bas et pour lui faire faire ensuite le voyage vers l’Europe.
 
A lire les dizaines de témoins qui s’exprimaient ce week-end sur les réseaux sociaux, il y a, chez tous ceux qui ont travaillé avec lui, un avant et un après Gérard. Carlos Ghosn lui même reconnaissait dans la préface qu’il a écrite au livre que C. Midler, Y. Lung et moi avons consacré à la Kwid qu’il n’aurait sans doute pas décidé de donner son feu vert au projet si il n’avait pas eu l’homme pour le conduire.
 
lire la suite

décembre 2

L’industrie automobile allemande : un compromis en péril

France's team knocked out. And in the end, Germany wins?

Alors que l’industrie automobile française va, ce lundi, tenter de comprendre ce qui l’attend et tenter de faire pression pour que tous les soutiens lui soient apportés, les nouvelles de nos voisins allemands convergent pour indiquer que les années à venir vont être difficiles pour les constructeurs comme pour les équipementiers.
 
Après que Audi ait annoncé  en début de semaine dernière une réduction d’effectifs de 9500 personnes d’ici à 2025, c’est Daimler qui annonçait en fin de semaine la suppression de 10 000 emplois d’ici à 2022. Continental avait, il y a quelques semaines, annoncé de même un plan de réduction de ses effectifs de 20 000 (sur un total de 244 000 personnes) dont 7000 en Allemagne. "Au total, indique RFI, ces derniers mois les principaux constructeurs et équipementiers automobiles ont programmé près de 30 000 suppressions d'emplois" .
 
lire la suite

novembre 28th

Voiture électrique : la France manque-t-elle de puissance ?

Date: 
20/11/2019
Emission / Séminaire / Colloque: 

Tommaso Pardi / Voiture électrique : la France manque-t-elle de puissance ? / Journal de l'Eco / France Culture

novembre 23

L’entreprise impériale de Volkswagen dans l’espace médiatique

Dieselgate : and the winner is...

En ce mois de novembre, l’offensive électrique de Volkswagen se traduit par une impressionnante série d’annonces et de déclarations des dirigeants du groupe qui semblent vouloir convaincre chacun que l’inéluctable marche vers le véhicule électrique à batterie est en cours et que c’est Volkswagen qui, parmi tous les constructeurs, est le plus prêt à conduire cette mutation.
 
Il y a sans doute là une dimension "méthode Coué" qui conduit les dirigeants effrayés par les risques qu’ils prennent à vouloir se convaincre, convaincre leurs équipes et convaincre les clientèles que l’électrique à batterie est le bon choix.
Il y a surtout d’évidence une volonté très politique d’imposer un standard mondial et de fabriquer, pour l’industrie automobile, des règles du jeu concurrentiel qui seront d’autant plus facile à respecter pour Volkswagen qu’elles auront été en large partie conçues autour de ses convictions et propositions.
 
lire la suite

novembre 17

novembre 11

Toyota et Honda : différents mais solides

Looks like a no-deal

En ce mois de novembre, nous parviennent les résultats financiers des constructeurs japonais pour le premier semestre de leur exercice qui se clôt fin mars. En attendant ceux de Nissan qui ne seront rendus publics que cette semaine, on peut se pencher sur ceux de Toyota et Honda qui révèlent d’ores et déjà l’inégale exposition des uns et des autres au reflux de la demande mondiale qui se précise.
  lire la suite

novembre 3

PSA-FCA : l'ombre de Sergio plane sur l'opération

Some in the industry need a haircut
A mesure que se précisent les termes exacts du deal en cours de négociation et les réactions des marchés, les contours de ce 50-50 paraissent un peu moins "paritaires". En effet, les financiers calculent sur la base des valorisations respectives des deux groupes avant l’annonce du projet et des opérations qui vont être conduites avant le deal que l’on serait plutôt à 60-40 au profit de PSA et que PSA consent donc pour que le deal se fasse à un important sacrifice.
En effet, à la clôture de mercredi soir, la capitalisation de PSA s'élevait à 23,19 milliards d'euros quand celle de FCA s'établissait à 18,22 milliards d'euros. On a appris que, avant la réalisation de l’opération, FCA distribuerait à ses actionnaires un dividende exceptionnel de 5,5 milliards d’euros, ainsi que sa participation dans Comau estimée à 250 millions d'euros.
lire la suite

octobre 27th

Derrière les résultats financiers : l’enjeu de la politique de distribution aux actionnaires

Payout_policy_2006-15.jpg

Alors que nous sont communiqués en cette fin octobre les résultats financiers du troisième trimestre 2019 des groupes automobiles, se profile une année 2019 plutôt difficile pour la plupart des constructeurs et tout laisse à penser que les choses ne s’amélioreront pas en 2020 : une large majorité de marchés est orientée à la baisse et il est impérieux de continuer d’investir.
 
Investir pour un constructeur, c’est à la fois nourrir le "business as usual" en renouvelant régulièrement ses gammes et/ou en modernisant son outil de production. C’est aussi bien évidemment se lancer ou se développer sur de nouveaux terrains en s’implantant dans des pays où il n’était pas ou pas suffisamment, en créant de nouvelles marques ou en développant des compétences en R&D qui n’étaient pas les siennes jusqu’alors.
Dans tous ces cas, il y a nécessité de dépenser présentement et, la plupart du temps, plusieurs années de suite en escomptant des recettes futures qui peuvent ou non devenir réalités.
lire la suite

octobre 23

Bernard Jullien / Renault / Fiat-Chrysler : comment réussir une fusion ? / Entendez-vous l'éco? / France Culture

Date: 
31/05/2019
Patricia Charléty, professeure d'économie et de finance à l'ESSEC
Philippe Chalmin, Professeur d'économie à l'université de Paris Dauphine
Emission / Séminaire / Colloque: 

Bernard Jullien / Patricia Charléty / Philippe Chalmin / Entendez-vous l'éco? / France Culture

En début de semaine, Renault a accepté d’étudier la proposition de fusion avec l’italo-américain Fiat-Chrysler. Cette fusion élèverait le futur groupe automobile au troisième rang mondial. Pourquoi ces deux géants veulent-ils fusionner ? Quels sont les risques d'une fusion ?

GIS Gerpisa / gerpisa.org
61 avenue du Président Wilson - 94230 CACHAN
+33(0)1 47 40 59 50

Copyright© Gerpisa
Concéption Tommaso Pardi
Administration Géry Deffontaines

Créé avec l'aide de Drupal, un système de gestion de contenu "opensource"
randomness